Feeling Extra Blessed Lately

Standard
Feeling Extra Blessed Lately

These past few weeks I have been feeling “extra blessed.” Like God is “closer than normal” – I’m not sure if that’s possible, since he’s always with us, but I like it :)

His Word speaks more clearly. Praise songs ring deeper. His love, provision and protection are evident at every turn. His blessings are abundant. My heart is overflowing with gratitude, love and joy. Could it be because Luke will be here in 4-ish weeks? It’s probably part of it. But I keep telling myself that Luke isn’t my child – he’s God’s. God is trusting me with this most precious little boy, and it is the most amazing, humbling and slightly terrifying responsibility ever. I am so excited to meet him, to shower him with love and to tell him all about our Savior. I am grateful for the joys and burdens of parenthood that await – and I pray to have them every day, until I am standing in heaven. And I am thankful for each of you who has walked beside us through this pregnancy – your prayers and love have seen us through some highs and lows (thankfully more highs than lows!), and we ask that you keep them coming!

As evidence of the extra blessings, here is a photo of Luke at 35 weeks, 4 days – he finally cooperated with the 3D ultrasound!

On the left: umbilical cord. Then there's a nose, two eyes and a mouth!

On the left: umbilical cord. Then there’s a nose, two eyes and a mouth!

If you’re of the praying type, please pray that Luke continues to grow and that my fluid levels continue to go up. Last week, we found out my amniotic fluid was at a 7 – anything below 5 would require bed rest/hospitalization and induction; “normal” is in the teens. We’re working our way up with lots of water and healthy eating! Also, he’s a smaller guy (though totally healthy), but it wouldn’t hurt for him to get a little taller and put on some ounces before he gets here :)

Leave a Reply

