We Said Goodbye

Standard

As  you probably already know, Papa passed away one week ago yesterday. It was an incredibly difficult, sad and emotional time for me and my family, and I wanted to thank everyone for their kind words, prayers and messages over the past weeks.

I’m glad that I was able to spend his last days with him, comforting him, praying for him and loving on him. Papa was the original man in my life – I’ve never met my father, so he was my main male role model growing up – and I will miss him terribly. However, I am very grateful for the fact that he is no longer hurting, sick or suffering – he’s been dealing with advanced kidney, lung and heart disease for a very long time now, and I know the fight exhausted him.

I was able to write something for his funeral that was read beautifully by my Aunt Darla. I’m so glad she was willing and able to do so – because there’s no way I was going to be able to do that! The funeral also had a great photo slideshow from my Aunt Kami, which elicited a lot of laughs – just the way he would have wanted it :)

Leave a Reply

