Happy (Belated) Birthday, Weatherman!

Standard

That’s right! Yesterday was Chad’s 29th birthday, and it was a great one :)

Happy birthday, baby!

Happy birthday, baby!

Because he had to work, we did most of the celebrating on Friday night. We had dinner and drinks at Flying Saucer, then headed over to Willy D’s (a dueling piano bar) for some entertainment. We were definitely entertained…but mostly bythe other patrons! There were a lot of interesting characters and questionable decisions made around us, but all in all it was a good night. When the drunk people started recognizing Chad and spreading the word to one another, we decided it was best we head home for the night :) As luck would have it, we got home right at midnight, so I sang him Happy Birthday (not like Marilyn Monroe) and we ate his birthday ice cream cake while watching The League. A perfect ending to the night!

mmm...cake!

mmm…cake!

On Saturday, his ACTUAL birthday, we slept in (GLORIOUS) and then had brunch at B-Side, a local hole-in-the-wall. I had some AMAZING blueberry pancakes, and Chad had the biscuit mountain – two

homemade biscuits topped with hash browns, sausage cream gravy and eggs over easy. It was super Southern, y’all! We came home to play Chad’s new Xbox Kinect (thanks, family-in-love!), and I got sweaty and

sore. Which, in hindsight, wasn’t the best of ideas – since I ran a 5k a few hours later! But I made it home in time to make one of Chad’s favorite meals for his birthday dinner – stromboli. And of course, more birthday ice cream cake! In case you’re wondering, it was chocolate cake, mint chocolate chip ice cream, white icing and fudge decorations on top. DELISH!!

One of the funniest things that happened this weekend was when Chad said “This is the first birthday you’ve spent with me in a long time. Definitely the first one since we moved to Arkansas.” (Last year I was in Cary, North Carolina, for a work conference at SAS.) That seemed off to me, but I couldn’t pinpoint where I was for his birthday in 2010, so I let it go. In the middle of my shower, it hit me: IN 2010 WE WERE ON A CRUISE, GETTING ENGAGED, FOR HIS BIRTHDAY! Point: Weather Wife :)

So happy birthday to my amazing, wonderful, loving and kind husband – I am so blessed to be your wife, and I look forward to a lifetime of birthdays to celebrate together. I love you!!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

