Peru Bound!

Standard

That’s right! Tomorrow I leave for Lima, Peru, for a 10-day mission trip with some fellow members of Immanuel Baptist Church. I am SUPER excited for what God has in store for us in Lima – I know He will do some big things in me and through me!

Of course, you go on mission trips to change people’s lives. Literally, when I started living for Jesus, my life changed forever – and I’d love to bring that to someone else. However, having been on a mission trip before, it can end up feeling like God made a bigger change in YOU than in the people you’re serving! It’s impossible to go into a third world country, see the things you see, hear the stories you hear, etc. and not be changed forever. It really puts things in perspective and allows you to focus on the blessings (and responsibilities) God has given you.

I’ve been asked a lot – specifically by my non-believing coworkers – why in the world I would fly to the other side of the planet to talk to strangers for a week. My simple answer? Because the Bible tells me to. I’m unapologetic about my allegiance to the truth of the Word, and it very clearly states that we are to go, make disciples of all nations and that faith without works is dead – so that’s exactly what I’m going to do!

Will I be uncomfortable? Maybe. Probably. I love talking about Jesus and want people to experience the abundant life that I have, but sometimes I get a little shy, and the language barrier is intimidating. When I get uncomfortable about sharing the Gospel, I just chalk it up to the Devil trying to defeat God’s power – God has already won me over, so Satan is trying to prevent God gaining one more person in his Holy army, through me. So in a way, being uncomfortable – and then proceeding with what you know to be God’s will – is a great thing! It’s defeating the enemy through God’s power – and that is an awesome thing!

I would appreciate anyone and everyone’s prayers while we’re gone. We travel all day November 7, do mission work all day November 8-15, and then travel November 16. I should be back in Little Rock around noon on Friday, November 16 (barring any plane delays). Please pray for the people of Lima – that their hearts would be open to hearing and receiving the gospel. Please pray for the members of our mission team – that we would be filled with boldness and the Holy Spirit. Please pray for travel mercies, good health and good spirits throughout the trip. And please pray for Chad while I’m gone!

Love you all!

Leave a Reply

