Book Review: Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea

Standard

Last week I finished up Chelsea Handler’s “Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea.” I’ve never watched Chelsea Lately, nor have I seen her do any standup, but I was in great need of a light, mindless read and this fit the bill. Plus, I LOVED Tina Fey’s “Bossypants” – I literally laughed out loud tons of times – and was hoping that this would elicit the same reaction.

Unfortunately, I didn’t find Chelsea handler all that funny. Don’t get me wrong, I love some dry humor and sarcasm, but it just doesn’t translate that well into print (at least not for her). I didn’t laugh out loud until the final two chapters, and even then, it wasn’t nearly to the degree as Tina Fey’s book.

Another difference between CH and TF’s books were the sequencing. Tina’s went in chronological order and told a story. Chelsea’s was just a collection or random things that “happened” (I seriously doubt that any of these stories are true) to her. Tina’s just felt more real and relatable, whereas Chelsea’s felt contrived. Maybe that’s just me.

In a nutshell, if you’re looking for a mindless read, this fits the mold. But if you’re looking for a really good mindless read, go for “Bossypants” over “Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea.”

Leave a Reply

