3 Days in, 2 Pounds Down

Standard

Well, I joined a gym. 10 Fitness to be exact. I said at the beginning of the year that I was going to work out regularly, and I did pretty well – until I completed my 5K (in 37 minutes, what!), and no longer had a goal.

Since then I’ve done very little in terms of working out. Sure, I went running a few times, spent a couple of hours on the elliptical and lifted a few weights, but really it was nothing to get excited about. With our Vegas Vacation less than 100 days away, I feel it’s time to get serious about the gym – and not just until August. I need to make this a habit. A good habit. A habit that will allow me to lose 10-15 pounds before I have to stand next to my super hot mother-in-law and sister-in-law in a bikini in Vegas.

I started going to the gym and watching what I eat on Monday. I’ve since lost 2 pounds! Which is super exciting, but I”m pretty sure it’s all of the cake and booze I consumed the week before purchasing the gym membership. But hey – you have to start somewhere. I have my complimentary fitness assessment and personal training session today, so hopefully that goes well (and I can move my arms and legs thereafter).

My friend Emily asked if I’d changed my diet, and in a way, yes. First of all, no more cake and wine every night. I know, sad. I’ve also started logging my food in CalorieCount.About.com. Rather than wildly guessing how many calories I’ve consumed (which is totally inaccurate and usually off by hundreds), I enter my food into the tool and it analyzes the nutrition (calories, fat, sodium, sugar, etc.). I know it’s not 100% accurate, but it gives me a good guide to go by. (And informed me that 70% of my diet is carbs…whoops.)

I’ve also started drinking 64 ounces of water a day. I didn’t think that was really a big deal, but Y’ALL – it is! Most people eat not because they’re hungry, but because they’re thirsty. If you wait until you’re thirsty to drink something, dehydration has already begun. So go get yourself some water! Right now!

So there you have it – my weight loss journey for the past 3 days. Don’t get me wrong – I’m not disillusioned into thinking I’m fat or anything. But there is definitely some weight that can healthfully be taken off, some inches I could stand to lose and some tightening/toning that needs to be done. That’s what this is about – getting healthier and feeling fabulous!

Leave a Reply

