Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Standard

Kind of a crazy title right? I was intrigued right off the bat.

When I first started reading this book, I was a little concerned that I’d chosen two scary books back-to-back. I like to vary my reading and was like “Ahh geez. This is not what I need right now.” since I was so scared of my last book. Thankfully, that didn’t turn out to be the case – this was more of a sci-fi/thriller type of book, and I really enjoyed it.

The book opens with an introduction to the main character (Jacob) and his grandfather – they have a very special bond. After learning a bit about them and their relationship, Jacob’s grandfather is tragically killed (murdered). Jacob then seeks counseling and winds up visiting the remote Welsh island his grandfather, a holocaust survivor, lived on while in his late teens. Some crazy things start happening on the island and an entire world that Jacob never knew existed – containing the secrets of his grandpa’s past – is opened. Jacob and his band of peculiar friends are left fighting for their lives, and Jacob has to choose between living in this world or in the world he’s always known.

In short, I really liked this book. It wasn’t scary, it kept my attention and it was an easy read. Go for it!

Leave a Reply

