Hunger Games – AKA The Best Thing That Happened to Me All Weekend

Standard

I, like millions of other people, saw The Hunger Games movie over the weekend, and all I can say is HOLY COW. I thought the movie was extremely well done and stuck pretty

Image from JustJared.com

closely to the book, as far as movie adaptations go.

**SPOILER ALERT** If you haven’t read the book or seen the movie, and you don’t want spoilers, STOP READING NOW.

A few things that stuck out to me:

1. They totally cut out Madge, the mayor’s daughter who gave Katniss the Mockingjay pin. She’s important later – I wonder how they’ll change those parts too, or if she’ll be introduced in a different way?

2. No scenes of Katniss and Peeta snarfing down food on the train or in the Capital? They were STARVING and the book remarks about Katniss putting on a few pounds in preparation for the Games. A tiny detail, but I’m just saying.

3. Her pre-Games interview dress was very different than I imagined. In the book, it was made of red, yellow, orange and blue jewels, to look like flames. In the movie, it was red fabric and when she twirled it made flames like in the chariot parade. I was looking forward to the jeweled dress.

4. No bread from District 11 after Rue died? That made me sad. It showed solidarity between districts, and is important later in the story. I know Katniss did the three-fingered kiss/salute to District 11 in honor of Rue (thus inciting the revolution in that district), but it wasn’t quite the same.

5. I really like the cave scenes in the movie better than the book. In the book, it was like Peeta was playing a game with Katniss – teasing her for kisses all the time. In the movie, it felt way more real – like they were really falling for each other.

6. The cornucopia in the book was gold and had grooves that would help them climb up – the movie’s was super modern, silver and slick. Again, no big deal.

7. There was no “fix up/hospital” session after the hovercraft picked up Katniss and Peeta from the arena. I thought scenes of Katniss screaming for Peeta and the revelation of Peeta’s artificial leg (which did not happen in the movie) would have been great. But I understand editing for time purposes. But again – the leg thing is important later in the series.

And no, I didn’t remember all of these details/discrepancies from reading the book last July on our honeymoon. I read it again on Friday/Saturday before I saw the movie. Yes, I am that nerdy. And yes, I did say I didn’t enjoy the book that much the first time around – I couldn’t get over the kids killing kids part – but after stepping back (and after reading it NOT on my honeymoon, where violence, death and sadness were total buzz killers), I realized the genius that was this story. It’s sad to say that something like this is technically possible – especially with the stupidity of some people on this earth.

So – what did you think of the movie? Best parts? Parts you didn’t like? All in all, I loved it and would definitely see it again.

Leave a Reply

