Book Review: Smokin’ Seventeen

Standard

Tons of people had been talking about the Stephanie Plum book series, so I thought I’d try one out. After all, there are eighteen in the series so far – the author wouldn’t keep writing them if they weren’t great, right?

Questionable.

Yes, you know I’m a sucker for those “who done it” murder mystery books, and after this book landed on Amazon.com’s must read list, I decided to check it out. Within the first chapter of Smokin’ Seventeen, I’d figured out the plot and the killer. Wah wah. So the following 300 pages weren’t really that exciting for me – I was just waiting for everyone in the book to catch onto what I already knew.

Stephanie Plum (the main character in all 18 books) is a bail bonds agent in Trenton, New Jersey. There is a cast of zany characters in her life, all straight out of the Jersey Shore. Picture your stereotypical New Jersey Italians – complete with mobsters, foul language, crime and out of control sex drives – and you’ve met just about every character in the book. She’s torn between two lovers (of course) and then a new guy comes into town…right at the same time dead bodies start popping up. I mean really – do you even need to guess who did it? Obvious.

With all of that said, it was an extremely easy and quick read, so if you’re looking for something mindless – perhaps you have a beach vacation or a flight ahead – this is good for that. Just keep your expectations in check.

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

One response »

  1. Wait, you started with 17? No matter what, they aren’t top quality literature, but I’m sure they are less enjoyable if you haven’t watched the characters develop through the series. Like you said, quick and easy read. I do like them though. (Not through the series yet. I read one in between other “deeper” books.)

Leave a Reply

