If You Had One Wish…

Standard

What would it be? After 8 years of working with the Make-A-Wish Foundation, I can tell you all kinds of Wishes I’ve seen granted for kids of all ages. I really don’t think I would have been as smart and/or creative as half of them when I was their age! I mean really – would I have wished for a trip to Paris at age 12? To go to the Olympics? No! I would have said something like “I wish I had a pair of scissors!”

Yesterday, I had the pleasure of granting Mallory’s Wish. Mallory was born with a congenital heart disease that will require many surgeries over her lifetime. But do you think that got her down? NO! She’s the happiest, sweetest little girl.

I’ve spent weeks planning the details of Mallory’s Wish Enhancement Party, so you can imagine my excitement when the day had finally come. I wanted to do something I’d never done before (which is hard after 8 years), and I came up with a human/balloon tunnel. Several dozen balloons were donated and dozens of people formed a tunnel for Mallory and her family to walk through. As they passed, the people handed the balloons to Mallory and her family, until they got to the end of the tunnel where Mickey, Minnie and Daisy Duck were waiting with sparkly posters that read, “Mallory, you’re going to Disney World!” As Mallory rounded the corner, everyone started cheering for her and clapping, and even though she couldn’t read the signs, she totally knew what was going on :)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gifts were open, cookies were eaten and punch was drunk, and all had a great time. Mallory and her family are off to Disney World for a week of fun and a doctor-free life – something they haven’t known in the past 4 years. YAY!

Leave a Reply

