First Married Valentine’s Day

Standard

Yesterday was our first “married” Valentine’s Day, and it was one for the books. In the past, celebrating Valentine’s Day on the ACTUAL day has been a very rare occasion, considering it often fell on a weekday and we lived 7 hours apart. But, now that we’re married, that distance thing is no longer an issue (knock on wood).

The day started with me going to the gym (I know, you’re shocked). When I came back, The Hubs had set out my gift and card on the kitchen counter, as we are like children on Christmas morning and can’t wait till the evening to open presents :) I got a super sweet card and a blooming flower in a vase from Hallmark (at my request, the budget was slim). I got Chad a card that I found in Michigan in January (I really liked it, so I scooped it up at their Target, in fear of not being able to find it in Little Rock), a House Divided Texas-OU flag (We’ve literally talked about this since we very first started dating. Our then non-existent home office would be Texas-OU themed with various forms of collegiate collateral everywhere. Now, said office exists, and it was time to purchase the coveted flag.) and a couple’s massage (hence why I requested he spend virtually nothing on me – I’d taken care of us!).

After work, it was time for a glass of wine and good conversation on the couch (actually, I made Chad sit with me on the LOVE seat, since it was Valentine’s Day and all) before heading off to our dinner reservation.

Side note – I was really excited to get a dinner reservation on Valentine’s Day at 6:30 p.m. when I didn’t even request said reservation until the day before. Chad was supposed to work on Tuesday, but Monday’s snow meant he had to go to work at 4:30 a.m. and as a reward, he got Tuesday and Wednesday off. Thus, we were actually able to go out for Valentine’s Day!

First MARRIED Valentine's Day!!

We arrived at Papa Sushi for a hibachi dinner (we love hibachi). The sushi bar side of the restaurant was PACKED – not an open seat, and very loud and chaotic, with waiters running around like chickens with their heads cut off. The hibachi side, however, was completely empty! What I thought would be a “group date” style outing turned into a VIP-style dinner, as Chad and I were the only people at the hibachi table. We were also seated near a live piano player, so it felt very romantic – it was a nice surprise! We had great service (being the only people on that side of the restaurant) and walked out with a very modest Valentine’s Day tab – exactly $50 for steak, shrimp and dessert, and including a very generous tip for our awesome waiter. As an added bonus, I was given a single long-stem red rose after dinner, just like on our first date!

So romantic :)

Then it was back home for some couch snuggling and movie watching. You’d think we’d watch a romantic comedy or love story of some sort – NOPE! We opted for our favorite movie, “Liar, Liar,” and quoted along with every word throughout the flick. It’s a favorite past time – don’t judge!

All in all, it was a GREAT Valentine’s Day – and today marks 7 months of being married! I know, 7 months is a random thing to get excited about, but we met 07/07/07, so 7’s are kind of our “thing.” We’ve already said that for our 7th wedding anniversary, we’re going to go/do something very nice – while most people would celebrate the 5th or 10th year milestone, we like to shake it up :)

Leave a Reply

