Book Review: Sense and Sensibility

Standard

Ever since Lindsay forced me to read Pride and Prejudice (after I stumbled upon the Keira Knightley film version and LOVED IT), I’ve been a fan of the Old English/period novels. In fact, I went on to read not just P&P, but also the entire series of books that retold the story from Mr. Darcy’s point of view (amazing) and watched the 5 hour BBC special whilst drinking wine on Lindsay’s couch (glorious). And now I’m pretty sure Downton Abbey is one of the best shows on TV. Like I said – I’m a fan.

My most recent literary conquest was Sense and Sensibility, another Jane Austen classic. First off, I think I made a critical mistake here – I did not see the movie first. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t usually advocate for seeing the movie before reading the book, but in the case of Old English writing, it’s often helpful to get yourself a baseline knowledge and understanding of the characters/plot (especially when they’re all referred to by their last names and it can sometimes be confusing who they’re talking about) before jumping into the book. Past all of that, it’s a great story of young English women seeking to marry to their heart’s content while still assuring they’ll lead a “comfortable” lifestyle. Several suitors come in and out of the picture, and in the end, the end up with some pretty good guys. I will admit there were some awesome twists that I didn’t see coming (scandalous!), and that I did enjoy the book overall – though it is no Pride & Prejudice!!

As I wrote that last paragraph, I consulted my Engligh Period Novel Expert, Lindsay, and she told me I am definitely missing out by not having seen the movie. A quick IMDB search told me that the movie stars Kate Winslet (LOVE) and Alan Rickman (LOVE LOVE LOVE hello he was Severus Snape!!) – and now it has been added to my “must see” list. The hubs is already acquiring said movie for me, as he loves me way more than I deserve and is willing to put up with my crazy, random requests for movies made 17 years ago (yes, I checked – 1995 WAS 17 years ago. And now I feel old.).

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

One response »

  1. I totally agree about seeing the movies first – it definitely helps break through the old English speak. I’m planning to catch up on some other Austen movies and Jane Eyre before I dive into the books for that very reason! And I’m glad you are already seeking the movie – I was ready to mail it to you tomorrow until I read The Hubs was already on the case. A great movie indeed and one you will watch over and over and over. Don’t forget that Emma Thompson and Hugh Grant are the leads – and that it was filmed during the peak of their acting careers! Oh and if you haven’t seem Emma with Gwyneth Paltrow you might as well rectify that now while you’re at it. Jeremy Northam makes my heart flutter!

Leave a Reply

