Foodie Milestone

Standard

You guys, I think I have reached a Foodie milestone.

My first Foodie milestone came in college when Lindsay cooked for me every Thursday after our evening class and before we watched Grey’s Anatomy (this was back when the show was good). It was then that I realized that cooking can be creative and fun.

My second Foodie milestone came just after college, when I cooked a meal for Chad for our second date. Mind you, up until a few months ago he did not know that it was frozen pasta/chicken/veggies from a bag, but it was the only “cooking” I knew how to do at that point. It was then that I realized cooking can win over a man’s heart.

My next Foodie milestone came when I moved to Arkansas. Chad would come over to my apartment regularly and we would cook food TOGETHER! And it was FUN! And then we would pair it with WINE, which is DELICIOUS! And a tradition was born…

My next Foodie milestone came when we were registering for our wedding. Do you KNOW how many things there are to register for that can go in your kitchen? Pots and pans were our #1 most desired item – the expensive, fancy kind. The fact that we got them all was AMAZING to us, and we use them every day. THANKS, friends and family!

But the most recent Foodie milestone happened to me just now, sitting in my cubicle. “That is a strange place to have a Foodie milestone!” one might say, and I would agree. But today, in my cubicle, as I sat down to eat my broccoli cheese soup from a can, I realized – I can’t eat this crap. I have now risen above crap in a can/box/pouch/whatever and my tastebuds just won’t have it. I took a bite despite knowing it would end poorly and seriously had a gag reflex. It was immediately disposed of.

I should have known this moment was coming – for a while now, I’ve made the tried-and-true frozen dinners for lunch each day, picked around at them and ultimately threw them in the trash, half finished at best. I think my tastebuds have matured to have…well, TASTE. And that, if you ask me, is a good thing.

This is clearly my own fault. Since moving to Arkansas, and especially since getting married, I cook more and more. I cook a full meal at least 5 times/week (barring any crazy life events going on), and I try to mix it up to avoid food ruts. I have conditioned myself to only love fresh foods (80% or more of our groceries come from the perimeter of the grocery store – very little from the preservative-filled, boxed up middle) and stuff that was made with love. That makes me happy.

And that, friends, is the story of my latest Foodie milestone. I’m growing up right before your eyes!!

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

One response »

Leave a Reply

