My Mystery Lump

Standard

As many of you probably already know from Facebook, Gmail and/or text conversations, I went to the doctor today to have a mysterious lump on my face (on my jawline, near my earlobe) examined. It appeared about two weeks ago and only hurts if I touch it – so I don’t touch it (though, Chad went to kiss me on the cheek once and hit it *just right* and I almost punched him because it hurt).

I’m happy to report that the lump is a benign, yet infected cyst. I have a prescription for some antibiotics that will make the swelling go down, and hopefully reduce it to the point where you can’t see it any more. If it’s still protruding, I’ll have to go to a plastic surgeon to have it removed, since it’s on my face and we don’t want that work of art damaged :)

I wanted to thank all of you for your kind words and prayers today – naturally, mystery lumps are very scary and it’s easy to let your imagination run wild with scary possibilities.

Leave a Reply

