Resolutions

Standard

Well, you guessed it. My annual resolution to work out more/lose weight/get in shape has struck again! But this time I have a plan to (hopefully) stick with it.

1. Start small. Instead of going balls to the wall and saying I’m going to work out 7 days a week for an hour or more a day, I’m going to start by saying I’m going to do 30 minutes or more 3 times a week. Yes, I realize that is a low bar, but leading up to the wedding I worked out 7 days a week for an hour or more and it had taken me a while to even want to look at the gym, much less go in. Now, I’m excited about working out again!

2. Have a goal in mind. The 10th anniversary of the Little Rock Marathon is this year, and thanks to some kind words and encouragement from my friend Katie McManners, I’ve decided to run the thing. The race is March 4, so that will require me to run/lift/train for a solid 2 months straight. I’m hoping it will become a habit by then! Achieving this goal will also give me motivation to keep on keepin’ on.

3. Adopt a “something is better than nothing” attitude. I’m typically an “all or nothin'” kind of gal. If I can’t get in an hour of exercise, typically during a favorite workout class, I don’t do it. With a hectic work and personal life schedule, this simply will not do. I will strive to get any kind of workout in I can, knowing that if I get in there and start working out, I’ll probably stay for a while. After all, 20 good minutes is better than 0 minutes or 60 half-A minutes!

4. Accountability. This is where you come in, friends! Don’t let me eat crap! Don’t let me convince you that we should go get cupcakes or lattes or whatever! Make sure I’m actually working out!! I need you!

What about you? What are your resolutions? And what are your plans to keep them? How can I help??

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Attempt to Cheat: Thwarted « Red River Romance

Leave a Reply

