Book Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Standard

I’m a fan of reading the book before you see the movie, so when I found out that the movie version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was coming out on December 21 (today!), I had to read the book. It has been on my list, but it got bumped up a few places so that I could see the movie with my honey over Christmas break (tomorrow!).

First of all – the book is 590 pages. I’m not easily deterred by a lengthy book – hello, I LOVED all of the Harry Potter books – but this one was really slow for the first 260 pages or so. I had a hard time reading it because I just kept thinking to myself “Come ON! Get to something good already!” and then there was the whole “Why is ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’ not the main character of this book?” thing. That threw me for a loop. But I will say that once the book got good, it got REALLY good. There was some definite suspense and shock, and of course I loved that.

Without giving it away, I would recommend this book to people. The ending (minus the last few chapters where they were coming down off the climax and the action had stopped) was really good, and worth wading through the first few hundred pages of “meh.” I do intend to read the next book in the series, though there needs to be some time between them. There was some heavy stuff in this book! (Great advice from Cheryl.)

I’ll let you know what I think of the movie once I’ve seen it!

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

2 responses »

  1. I tried to read it but put it down. Then I heard several people say the first 100-ish pages are super blah, but then it gets good. I’m actually contemplating seeing the movie first. I NEVER do that but I’m wondering if it will help me get geared up to try the book again.

  2. Pingback: Movie Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo « Red River Romance

Leave a Reply

