A Month of Thanksgiving: November 29

Standard

Today, I am thankful for Tex Mex. Growing up in Texas, I took Tex Mex for granted. I thought that deliciousness that is queso, guacamole, smoky chipotle salsa, enchiladas, fajitas, sweet/tart/strong margaritas and more was a standard part of everyone’s life. Heck, it was for everyone I knew!

And then I moved to Arkansas.

Despite what the locals may say, there is NO Tex Mex or Mexican food in Arkansas. I have fallen for this lie one too many times, only to have my heart broken each time. As Texans, our standards for good Tex Mex and Mexican food differ greatly from the rest of the country’s (although I’m sure I can get on board with Mexican food from, say, Arizona). I LOVE me some Tex Mex, as evidenced by the fact that every time I return to my beloved home state, I insist that I eat it at least 50% of the meals I’m there. (I usually have no objection from various friends and family.)

Precious Texans – do not take your Tex Mex for granted! It is a sacred food group, to be cherished in the deepest parts of your heart for eternity. How I envy the fact that you can go to any hole-in-the-wall or legendary place on a whim! It would take me 7 hours to drive to Houston, where I know I can get good Tex Mex, and 5 hours to get to Dallas, where I mooch off of Andrew’s hospitality/relative location to Love Field every time I’m in town. And that’s just not fiscally responsible.

Now I’m going to have to make queso and guacamole for dinner. Good thing Tex Mex recipes still live within me! GOD BLESS TEXAS, Y’ALL!!!

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

Leave a Reply

