Movie Review: Breaking Dawn, Part 1

Standard

Yes, I’m one of “those” Twilight people. No, I am not obsessed. No, I don’t care if you’re Team Edward or Team Jacob (I, personally, am Team Chad). I’m not going to shriek with joy or repulsion when I see Robert Pattison. But I was the first in my friend group to read the book series, and yes, I read them all in approximately 5 days. Don’t judge.

That being said, I enjoyed the books EXPONENTIALLY more than the movies. This is normally the case with any book/movie series, but the gap was really large in this instance. Movie 1 (Twilight) was ridiculously terrible. I laughed through it and felt like I wasted 2 hours of my life. Movie 2 (New Moon) was much better – perhaps because the bar was set so low. I honestly can’t remember seeing Movie 3 (Eclipse), though I know I did (and I know what happened in it – I have specific visual memories).

When Breaking Dawn, Part 1 hit theatres, I had an inexplicable urge to go see it. Perhaps because of the wedding/honeymoon scene, as I am obsessed with all things wedding/honeymoon (Say Yes to the Dress, Travel Channel’s Most Romantic Resorts, etc.)…still. I thought that would fade after the wedding – it has not. Sadly, I could not find a soul who wished to see it with me in Arkansas (special shout out to my sister in law, Carly, who texted me and said she would go see it with me if we didn’t live 1,200 miles apart). So, you can imagine my joy when my mommy texted me the day before her Arkansas Thanksgiving trip to say she wanted to go see it together! WHOO HOO!

I must admit – a little shamefully – that this movie was GREAT. Not “great” in the sense that it should win any type of award, but compared to all of the others, it was phenomenal. Yes, I know, low bar…but still! It was seriously good. I am genuinely excited about BD Part 2 – though not so excited that I actually know when it comes out. I’m sure I’ll be hit over the head with trailers, talk show appearances and magazine covers. No worries.

Do you judge me for this?

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

4 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness! I still haven’t seen it because no one will go with me. And what’s crazy is that I actually thought “I should text Brittney. She likes the same ridiculous stuff as me. Maybe she’d go.” But thoughts don’t stay in my head very long lately. I clearly got distracted before I texted you.

  2. I was going to ask you one day but I thought you were seeing it with someone else! lol. We can go see the 2nd one together!

Leave a Reply

