Book Review: Mockingjay

Standard

I swear, this series has given me a serious complex. We all know that I wasn’t a huge fan of book one, Hunger Games. Then, I gave a glowing and enthusiastic review of the second book in the series, Catching Fire. I was so excited to read the final book in the series, Mockingjay. It was a great read…until the end.

WARNING – SPOILERS AHEAD! DO NOT READ ON IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK, WISH TO AND DON’T WANT TO HAVE THE PLOT REVEALED!!!

Things were all well and good until the last two chapters or so. The underground tunnel action was awesome, the sister did NOT have to die, I totally saw the shooting of Coin coming but then…they just ship her off to District 12 and nothing really changes and it just kind of sputters? Not sure that I really cared for that at all.

I don’t know – maybe I just missed the awesomeness of it all – totally possible. For those of you who read the book, what did you think? Did I miss something? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

In summary – I didn’t really care for the first book, the second one was GREAT and the last one was good up until the end. It’s no Harry Potter – or even Twilight, for that matter.

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

4 responses »

  1. I really did like the series but more after the fact. While I was reading it, it stressed me out. I’m sure that’s the intent, but by Mockingjay, I just needed it to be over. I’m not sure I cared how it ended, just needed it to end. :-) Then after I let it sink in for a few days, I realized I had enjoyed it. But I agree. The end fizzled. I felt the same way with Breaking Dawn. Guess it’s hard to wrap up a series. Not everyone is as unbelievably awesome as JK Rowling.

Leave a Reply

