A Month of Thanksgiving: November 24-27

Standard

YAY Thanksgiving!! Yes, it was a few days ago now, but because of this joyous holiday full of family, food, football and fun, I have not been on a computer in days – and it has been AWESOME. Sometimes, especially when you’ve been working long, long, LONG and stressful hours at work, you just need to disconnect for a few days. That time was the past few days.

November 24: Today, I’m thankful for traditions. You know what I’m talking about – certain holiday recipes, sacred times when it’s acceptable to put up Christmas decorations, the fact that Christmas lights can only stay on overnight on Christmas Eve, sharing a bed with your sister (even at 24 years old) on Christmas Eve night because Papa is sleeping in your bed (which leads me to…) and Papa waking you up at 4 a.m. by rubbing in a circular motion on your back while saying “BB…Santa came!” just as he has done every year since birth (yes, this really happens – Papa LOVES Christmas). These are the things that make my otherwise ordinary life extraordinary. I don’t need anything fancy – just give me my family, our quirks and the holidays.

November 25: I’m thankful for my physical health. Today, mommy, Chris and I hiked Pinnacle Mountain in West Little Rock (an elevation of about 1100 feet). Sure, mommy complained just about the entire way, wanted to quit often and threatened to sit on a rock and wait for us to return more times than I can count – but she did it! We all did. I am so thankful that I can get up and go for a run, lift weights, dance my tush off in zumba and so many other things – after all, there are many who would give anything to be able to do that.

November 26: Today, I’m thankful for Christmas decorations! I LOVE LOVE LOVE Christmas decorations, and even got to increase our Christmas decor by $60 this year! (AND Hobby Lobby was having a 50% off sale, so I really got $120 worth of Christmas cheer for only $60!) You may have already seen our holiday decorations on Facebook, and let me tell you – the Christmas spirit as ARRIVED in Chateau Garneau! From the blue and silver tree to the red and green stockings to the tinsel and light-lined staircase and much more, you can’t help but be happy in our house right now!

November 27: I’m thankful for my fleece-lined tights. That’s right – fleece-lined tights. I’d never heard of these until a few weeks ago, but when Chad said today’s high was 42 and the low was going to be freezing, I knew it was time to bust these bad boys out. Although still tights, these bad boys are really warm. No, I wouldn’t suggest braving the elements in Chicago in February in them, but they are doing well for me in Arkansas in the 40’s. They are also very warm and soft – I suggest you look into some!

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

Leave a Reply

