A Month of Thanksgiving: November 23

Standard

Today, I am thankful for sleep. That sounds strange to you, I bet. But it’s true. I haven’t had much sleep in recent weeks due to a crazy work and life schedule, and yesterday it hit me like a ton of bricks.

I hadn’t eaten all day, and around 3 p.m. I had a headache like none other, likely due to a lack of sugar in my body and an overwhelming amount of stress (work, holiday things to do, etc.). I went home and took two Tylenol (for those of you who know me well, you know that I am extremely sensitive to drugs of any kind and usually resort to Children’s Chewable Tylenol for my ailments) and slept from 4 p.m. till 11 p.m. I woke up, took out my contacts, watched The Biggest Loser with my husband, and went back to sleep from 12:15 a.m. till 8:30 a.m.

I have to tell you, I have never felt more refreshed! However, I need to be better about not letting it get to this point in the first place. I never tell anyone no, even when it means my health or sanity are at risk. I am constantly moving at warp speed and that’s just no way to live. I know this. OCD is a hard condition to overcome!

To summarize – I will never take sleep for granted. I am lucky that I get to sleep in a warm, cozy bed with the world’s greatest husband. I live in a great home and am not exposed to the elements, war or any other crazy things. I love you, sleep!

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

Leave a Reply

