Book Review: Catching Fire

Standard

I know, you’re probably shocked I read Catching Fire, the second book in the Hunger Games series, after my scathing review of the first book. But here’s the deal – my issue with the first book was that it was entirely about kids killing other kids for the entertainment of adults. I mean, who wouldn’t be disturbed by that?

The second book, however, was not all about that. Sure, there was a little bit of kids killing kids, but (and I won’t give away the ending), it was for a good cause. As much as I struggled to finish the first book, I could not put this book down – in fact, I read the first 50 pages on Thursday and then the rest of the book in its entirety on Friday night after work. It was THAT good – and a really quick read.

So I feel like Cheryl has been vindicated. She told me I would like the second book better than the first, and she was absolutely right. Well played, friend.

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

One response »

  1. It’s like you read my mind. I saw the post title and thought “now why did she do that? She didn’t like the first” but am oh so pleased you gave it a shot and am so glad you liked it. :)

Leave a Reply

