Spicy Dr. Pepper Pulled Pork

Standard

**Disclaimer – this is not, nor will it ever be, a food blog. I don’t even know how to pronounce half of the words on the Food Network and my bridesmaids had to explain to me what a microplane was (among other things) at my bridal shower. If you want a real food blog, check out my BESTIE’S blog, Apron Adventures. Except she’s getting married on Friday, so she’s a little preoccupied right now – don’t expect any new posts in the next few weeks :)

Y’all. I made quite possibly one of the easiest, most DELICIOUS recipes in history over the weekend. I posted a picture of it on Facebook and had several requests for the recipe, so I thought I’d share here as well.

If you know me, you know I don’t like Dr. Pepper (or any soda for that matter). If forced, Dr. Pepper would be the very LAST soda I would choose. So when I found this recipe, I was SUPER skeptical, as two cans of Dr. Pepper are involved. I was also a little nervous about the chiles in adobo sauce – I like things spicy (but not too spicy), but Chad is less of a fan of spicy food. In short, I’m not really sure why I decided to give this recipe a try, but I did – and boy am I glad I did!!

What DO I like in recipes? Simple – a short ingredient list, words/foods/things I have actually heard of and a price tag that won’t break the bank (hello, we have TONS of college debt here). This recipe had all of those things, so chalk those things up in the plus column. I mean, dumping things into a dutch oven and then putting it in the oven for 6 hours? Done and done.

As the smell of slow-cooked pork filled our house, I got more and more anxious for Chad to get home from work so that we could bust out this bad boy. We eagerly made our tacos (you don’t have to eat it like a taco, that just sounded good to us) and sat down at the table. Upon his first bite, Chad’s eyes grew to the size of saucers, and he said – mouth still full of taco – “OH. MY. GOSH. HONEY. THIS MAY BE THE BEST THING YOU’VE EVER MADE.” (insert mumbling sounds here, courtesy of the taco-filled mouth) There is little in life that brings me more satisfaction than seeing him so happy :)

So, if you’re in the mood for pulled pork, want to try something new, or want to make your husband fall in love with you all over again, try the Spicy Dr. Pepper Pulled Pork. Trust me, you’ll thank me!

PS – It is also delicious as leftovers. Last night, I had it on whole wheat buns with pickles (BBQ sandwich-style), and it was divine. I think Chad had it with mashed potatoes and veggies for lunch today. Y’all know I love leftovers – this one did not disappoint!

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

Leave a Reply

