Free Flights are My Friend

Standard

You are all well aware of my love of travel. I even have a page dedicated on this blog to my bucket list of places to visit.

You are also well aware of my affinity for stealing blog posts from my friend Cheryl. I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again – she is a genius, I love her posts and hence why I rip them off. She also has a rockstar hubby of whom she is very proud – I can totally relate, and I love hearing their stories.

Not too long ago, Cheryl shared about an awesome credit card offer from Southwest Airlines, wherein you would receive 50,000 Rapid Rewards points just for signing up and making your first purchase. Naturally, I searched and searched online for this offer, but never found it. I was sad. Until yesterday.

Yesterday, an ad for that exact card arrived in our mailbox! I instantly took it to Chad and said “Can we PLEASE apply for this? Two free flights! We can cancel it after the flights if you don’t want to keep the card, but let’s at least go see your parents for free first!” He was all in. So that’s what we did!

Also, as I’m sure you’re aware, Bank of America is now going to charge $5/month for using your debit card. That’s $60/year or $120/couple. Chad was ENRAGED by this. He suggested we get a credit card with points that apply to all airlines, so that we could put all of our purchases every month on it and then pay it in full at the end of the month, just to stick it to BOA. Like the nerd that I am, I researched which credit cards had the lowest interest and best travel rewards – BOOM. Capital One Venture Card. We were approved for the lowest possible interest rate and a very nice limit. YAY for more free flights!

Now don’t get me wrong – I am NOT advocating for the use of credit cards. If you know me at all, you know that the idea of debt makes me break out into hives and credit cards get no use in our house. We are simply substituting our debit cards for credit cards as to gain access to free flights – there will be no exceeding our income level! Responsibility – and OCD tendencies – are key.

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

One response »

  1. First – yay for free flights! Second – not to side with “the man” but I recently explored this BofA situation. In fact I marched my yoga pant clad butt down to BofA ready for a fight. I practically accosted the bank manager and started firing off questions. Just to be told there are a lot of BofA customers this doesn’t apply to. If you have an Advantage Bank Account for example, you are exempt. Also, I’m pretty darn sure it would just be $5 per month, like 1 fee per account, not 1 fee per card. Long story short, you should talk to your BofA person before jumping through all those hoops.

Leave a Reply

