Fantasy Football

Standard

It’s no secret that Chad and I are huge football fans. Chad has been doing Fantasy Football for a while now, and has constantly encouraged me to join in on the fun. “But I don’t know any of the players, except for the big names,” I’d say. “Well what better way to get to know more players than Fantasy Football?” he’d say. Touche, Weatherman.

So, on Thursday night, I joined a bunch of guys Chad works with for my first ever Fantasy Football draft. I printed off some Fantasy rankings from the Internet so that it would look like I knew what I was doing – it didn’t take me long to realize that I was way out of my league. You know, considering they all legitimately knew the players and would say things like “That’s a great pick,” to each other, whereas I’d be like “I have no idea who that is, what team they play for or what position they play.” Le sigh.

However, I do know enough about football to get a few good picks. I’m not saying my lineup is the best – I’m fully aware that it is not – but I think it’s at least decent. Lundy, what do you think? You’re my resident female Fantasy Football expert :)

QB 1 – Matt Ryan (Falcons)
QB 2 – Jay Cutler (Broncos)
RB 1 – Leshawn McCoy (Eagles)
RB 2 – Matt Forte (Bears)
RB 3 – Ryan Mathews (Chargers)
RB 4 – Ricky Williams (Ravens)
WR 1 – Wes Welker (Patriots)
WR 2 – Reggie Wayne (Colts)
WR 3 – Julio Jones (Falcons)
WR 4 – Michael Crabtree (49ers)
TE 1 – Owen Daniels (Texans)
TE 2 – Lance Kendricks (Rams)
Flex – Lance Moore (Saints)
Kicker – Mason Crosby (Packers)
Defense – Patriots

I’m excited about Matt Ryan. I wanted him. Chad says LeShawn McCoy and Matt Forte are good (I’ll take his word on that). He also says my wide receivers are weak (I’ll take his word on that too). He says Lance Moore and Lance Kendricks are great sleeper picks (sure, buddy) – and he is also angry that I took them before he could get them. And nobody cares about kickers and defense (at least I knew that part).

Have you ever played Fantasy Football? Or do you hate it because your boyfriend/fiance/husband is obsessed with it? I’m going to try not to become one of “those” people…

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

3 responses »

  1. I bet you racked up some points the other night having Wes Welker on your roster! Matt does too and boy was he jubilant when that 99 yard play happened!

  2. Pingback: Girls Rule and Boys Drool « Red River Romance

Leave a Reply

