Surrealism and Normalcy

Standard

I woke up this morning and couldn’t help but think about how I’d feel when I woke up NEXT Friday morning – my wedding day. My friend Katie put it best by saying it was a mixture of surrealism and normalcy. It’s surreal to think that I’ll be getting married next Friday, donning my dream dress and standing in front of God, friends and family to declare that I will stand by Chad for better or for worse, for richer or for poorer, till death do us part…but it’s also very normal. I feel like marrying Chad is the most normal, natural thing I could be doing, so there is an overwhelming sense of peace and calm in my life right now.

I’m not saying I won’t be a bundle of nerves and other emotions on the big day, but I think my primary emotions will be excitement and joy, not anxiety or stress – at least that’s what I’m hoping! I know I’ve been saying it a lot lately, and you may find it hard to believe with my working 12+ hour days, hopping on and off planes, moving and coordinating the last-minute details of a wedding, but I have honestly never been happier in my life. Sometimes I just sit back incredulously and thank God for His goodness and blessings, because I know nothing this good can possibly come from me or anyone else. I am just. so. happy.

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

2 responses »

  1. I don’t think you’ll be nervous about marrying Chad (he’s THE ONE after all) but don’t be surprised if you are nervous about things like tripping on your dress. Nothing like that will happen of course but speaking from experience, that’s what I was worried about…especially because I had two rickety stone steps to contend with.

Leave a Reply

