Christ is Calling!

Standard

I haven’t really shared this with many people because I’ve been protecting and nurturing this “secret” in my heart for over a year now. But I now know that it is time to share my secret – because I’m going to need encouragement and accountability from all of you!

As you all know, I got a degree in PR and LOVE the communications field. Seriously – I knew from an early age what I wanted to study in college, even though I couldn’t even tell you what PR was at the time. I can honestly say that I love my job – the creativity, the strategy, the challenge, etc. – but not as much as I love Jesus.

Over a year ago, Christ started knocking on the door of my heart saying “I have big plans for you, sister.” Naturally, I flung the door wide open to hear what He had to say! It was then that I learned Christ’s plan for my life – I was to use my communication skills, with which he blessed me so richly, to advance His kingdom. Over the following months, I learned that the Director of Communication position existed at many churches, and my heart leaped with joy – THIS is what I was meant to do! Combining my love of all things communication with my love of all things Jesus is the reason God put me on this earth, and through me I hope He will do great things!

As many of you know, I’ve dabbled in this area a little bit already. My former pastor, Kerry Shook of Woodlands Church, has written two New York Times bestselling books, for which I helped write the study guide companion books and small group study questions, thanks to some amazing friends who recommended me. I also had the pleasure of volunteering with the interactive ministry at Woodlands Church, administering the “behind the scenes” stuff for its Sunday PM Twitter service. Both were amazing opportunities to serve the Lord, and only confirmed my desire to work for the church in the field of communication.

There was just one problem with God’s revelation to me – He also told me that I wasn’t yet ready and that now was not the time for me to assume a role of this nature. Sad face! However, I was not deterred – you can’t stop a moving train, and you can’t stop God’s will for your life – so I can rest assured in the divine timing of my new life adventure.

Recently, God has been reminding me of the plan he has in store for me – and informing me of the steps I need to be taking to get where He needs me to be. I have never been good at sticking to a daily time with God, but without any notice, God decided that 5:30 a.m. was my time. So for the past week, I have woken up at 5:30 a.m. every day – without alarm! – to spend time in the Word and in prayer. It has been AMAZING! Why haven’t I been doing this all along?? I was doing it when God revealed His plan for my future…why did I allow the distractions of life to get in the way?? Sigh. I frustrate myself.

Another thing God told me – it’s time to get serious about scripture memorization. I honestly have not committed any verses to memory since Awanas…and I’m pretty sure that ended when I was 6. That’s embarrassing – forgive me, Father! So I’m asking for your help, accountability and encouragement as I lean on God to learn more scripture by heart and continue my daily time in the Word.  Your prayers would be greatly appreciated!

In Matthew, the Lord says that wherever two or three gather, there He is also (paraphrased, as I don’t have it memorized!). I know I will be praying for this every day – please join me!

In closing, I’ve been debating whether or not I should publish this post via Facebook and Twitter as I do with all the others. I know that a lot of people are turned off by “religious” posts, and that it could, in the end, cost me some friends if I’ve alienated anyone. Well, that’s a risk I’m just going to have to take. I do not live my life to please those of this world, but my God in heaven – and I’ve been quiet about it for too long. Please know that it is not my intention to alienate or offend anyone, but it is a risk I am willing to take in the name of obedience. I’ve also worried that someone from work would read this and say “She doesn’t care about her job and wants to leave!” I can assure you that this is NOT the case! God has told me that I have a LOT of work to do before I could even consider a change in scenery, and I will remain 100% dedicated to my current job for many more years.

So – if you’re still reading this really long post and haven’t decided to de-friend me – what do you think? Will you be with me through this?

5 responses »

  1. So proud of you for posting this and being willing to listening to God’s plan for you! His plan is always so much better than what we could have dreamed up foe ourselves.

    • Thank you!! I am literally crying right now – both from relief and from the support and joy that has already started coming in. I am SO BLESSED!!

  2. Very proud of you lady. It is a hard thing to rely on faith and KNOW (not just hope) that God is taking care of you and preparing you for your future.

    I’m right there with you on scripture memorization. It is a tough business. :)

  3. Pingback: Coolest Thing Ever « Red River Romance

Leave a Reply

