Happy Mother’s Day!!!

Standard

My mom and I are, and always have been, very close. When you have a child at the ripe old age of 17 and take her with you to the mall and cruise Sonic (because that’s what you do in Small Town USA), you can’t help but form an inseparable bond.

Through it all, it’s always been me and mom (and eventually, me, mom and Kourtney). We’re the three amigos – we may not always agree on something, but God help the person that hurts one of us or tries to come between us. It can get ugly! And it has, on a few occasions. We won. We are undefeated in the battle of World vs. Us.

And in the insanity of all of this wedding planning, I wanted to take time to recognize my mommy for being so awesome through it all – she has been there when I needed her, offered valuable opinions while still letting me have what I wanted, provided perspective when I’ve gotten overwhelmed for no real reason, and of course – footed the whole bill.

But the wedding just scratches the surface of why I love my mommy – here are a few more reasons:

1. She never missed a volleyball, softball, basketball, track, cheerleading or theatre game/competition/show that I’ve ever been in. When we were growing up, she would drive back and forth across town to see both mine and my sister’s softball games. I’m sure that got old, but she never complained.

2. She’s so REAL. A lot of women grow up in this world with a negative self image, but not my sister and I. Mom always taught us to love ourselves and look out for each other – we don’t let “crap” get in the way of what’s really important.

3. She taught me that a woman can be strong, independent and successful – even when the odds are stacked against her. A 17 year old single mom who didn’t go to college doesn’t usually turn out her family’s first college graduates (Kourt’s still working on her degree, but she’ll get there), or two equally strong, independent and successful women who are kicking ass on their own. Yes, it happens, but the odds aren’t in your favor. But it didn’t happen by accident – it was always Job #1 for Judy.

LOVE YOU, MOMMY!!!

Mommy & Me in Little Rock during Thanksgiving :)

Also, I would be remiss not to mention my soon-to-be Mother-in-Law! She is ALSO super amazing and quite possibly one of the most fun, energetic and happy people on the planet. Seriously – I won the MIL lottery!

Me, Carly (Chad's sister), and Lisa (Chad's mom) less than 24 hours after meeting (3.5 years ago). To say that we hit it off instantly would be an understatement!

Leave a Reply

