The Life of a Weather Wife

Standard

There are certain things you must know about your future life when you go from single lady to married lady. For example, my friend Cheryl is married to a fire fighter. Her husband Ross has a non-traditional work schedule and a rather dangerous (and sometimes thankless) job, but she knew all of that going into the marriage and loves every minute of it. Then there are military wives, who get my vote for the most underappreicated of all spouses (I admit, I come from an extremely “military” family, so I may be biased here). And don’t even get me started on Kate Middleton – she is the envy of the ladies of the world and the future queen of one of the world’s most powerful monarchies – I can’t even imagine what she’s going through right now, but as “glamorous” as it sounds, I’m glad it isn’t me.

That being said, there are several things that are unique to the world of the Weather Wife. For instance, when everyone else is evacuating a city as a hurricane approaches, or while you’re fleeing to your saferoom because of a tornado, my husband is LITERALLY in the middle of it all. We’ve all seen the meteorologists oceanside as the hurricane approaches, reporting live while withstanding 70 MPH winds, rain and hail – and none of us wants to trade places with them. They don’t get to take shelter from the storm, they continue to work as the flood waters rise and the storms rage. In essence, they are a living example of “do as I say, not as I do.”

The life of a Weather Wife is also unique. Sure, it’s sometimes fun and “glamorous” to see your man on TV or have him be recognized by his “fans” in public, but there are downsides too. For example, I can’t tell you how many times we’ve had to cancel or reschedule dinner dates, cooking together, dance classes, etc. because of some crazy weather event. If it’s not the weather itself, sometimes it’s a school visit, having to fix weather equipment, putting the finishing touches on a package, taking photos to make cool 3D graphics or being just plain exhausted from being on-air for 5 straight hours during a SWAD.

I never really thought about the families of the local TV personalities before Chad and I met, but now I always think about them. It can be scary for them – during the scariest storms, they can’t cling to their loved ones, they have to fend for themselves and do what they’re told. They can’t call in and check on them – the entire news station is on high alert and everyone’s running around like crazy, so you can’t talk to them. And they do this without any breaks and usually little to no food (unless they’ve prepared beforehand or it’s safe for me to bring them a party tray from Chick-Fil-A, which I have done!).

So, in the midst of Severe Weather Season – and all year round – show a little love to your local weatherman :) He may not have a badge or a uniform, but he’s doing his best to protect and serve!

Leave a Reply

