Whirlwind Wedding Planning

Standard

We all know that I have a tendency to be a little…okay a lot…OCD. Yes, I have a particular way of doing things and I sometimes…okay, all the time…put really high standards on myself, my situation and those around me. So when it came to wedding planning, I was fully prepared to be stressed out by the inherent complexities – especially living in another state.

This is how I know that God was with me and is really blessing mine and Chad’s marriage – the wedding planning has been SO EASY and completely stress free! I honestly thought I would have to sacrifice what I wanted to make things fit into a tight budget, or that things would just be HARD – but that hasn’t been the case! What do I mean, you ask?

  1. I walked into my home church without an appointment, but our wonderful wedding coordinator, Shannon, was all smiles and happy to see us. She literally handed me her calendar and let me pick any day of the year! As an unexpected bonus, a good friend at the church has put in a good word for me, and we are getting an amazing deal on the chapel. We are SO blessed! The chapel is the most important part of the actual wedding to me, because it is so gorgeous and means so much to me.
  2. We went straight from the chapel to the one and only reception site that I liked that was in our budget – and instantly fell in love with it! It was so beautiful, unique and exactly the feel that Chad and I had talked about! As an added bonus, it was well UNDER budget – how often can you say THAT about wedding planning?! Especially if you’re me…since I have a tendency to pick the most expensive of EVERYTHING!
  3. While we were at the reception venue, there was a caterer and a florist waiting to speak with the facility manager. We started talking to them and I fell in love! Their personalities were wonderful, and the prices were just right – we booked them right then and there!
  4. After talking to the florist – who happens to be a member of my home church – I learned that her two best friends were a photographer and an airbrush makeup artist. Naturally, I called them up and FELL IN LOVE. I mean really – if she weren’t a woman and I wasn’t happily engaged to the most amazing man on the planet – I would marry our photographer. HA! The makeup artist was also amazing – a ball of energy for sure – so we booked her as well. As a bonus, the florist/photographer/makeup artist gave us a sweet deal ($500 off the package) for booking all 3 of them. HOORAY!

As you can see, we were EXTREMELY lucky in our 48 hours of whirlwind wedding planning! I seriously could NOT be happier with the vendors and locations we have – and all of the heavy lifting is already done! When I go home for the Bridal Extravaganza January 7-10, I hope to get invitations and cakes all lined up. Wish me luck!

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

2 responses »

  1. I’m glad the planning is coming together so easily for you! CAKE!!!!! If you were getting married in AR, I would have a great cake lady to suggest to you (hint: me) but since you insist on getting married where you family is and blah blah blah :-) let me know if I can help you figure out what you want and what to look for in the cake planning process!

  2. I did that same Bridal Extravaganza a couple years ago – it’s great! I was also looking for invitation options and they have many. I found them to be expensive for the most part but would recommend grabbing samples and if a vendor there doesn’t work, using those as inspiration when talking to other vendors.

Leave a Reply

