Harry Potter: A Love Affair

Standard

It should come as no surprise to you that I, like every other red blooded American of my generation, love Harry Potter. Although I was a late bloomer into the HP fanclub (special thanks to my BESTIE, Lindsay, for “convincing” me to put off studying for finals the last semester of college by having a Harry Potter movie marathon of movies 1-4), I’ve now read every book and have seen every movie made to date.

It’s no secret that movie #4, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, has been my hands-down favorite – mostly due to its inclusion of my beloved Cedric Diggory. I know Lindsay loves #5 (right?) and others have their own reasons for their personal favorites, but I must say – after seeing Part 1 of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows yesterday – I believe I have a new favorite!

DISCLAIMER:IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOKS OR SEEN THE MOVIES, STOP READING NOW. SPOILERS AHEAD!

Here are my reasons for loving/hating each HP film:

1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: This was the original. The kids – Harry, Hermione, Ron, Neville, etc. – were so young! It’s crazy. You can’t hate the first movie – it was the beginning of an era.

2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets: I believe this is where I began to fall in love with Severus Snape. I knew from the very beginning that Snape was a “good” guy, and Alan Rickman plays him like a GENIUS. Oh, and when the letters came up on the screen that went from I AM TOM RIDDLE to LORD VOLDEMORT, I almost fell out of my chair. AMAZING.

3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban: A crazy murder is on the loose, and then we find out he’s Harry’s Godfather and neither crazy NOR a murderer? AWESOME. Also, werewolves are amazing.

4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire: Two words: Cedric Diggory. He was handsome, funny and smart – therefore, they killed him off. Jerks. (And let the record show that I loved Cedric LONG BEFORE he was an angsty sparkly vampire.)

5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: Is there a more hated villian thatn Dolores Umbridge? I think not. This movie also gave us a greater picture of Bellatrix Lestrange – played by Helena Bonham Carter – who is TOTALLY CRAZY (I’m talking about Bellatrix AND HBC here), and does such an amazing job. When Sirius Black dies at the end, it kills me – I mean really, is it not bad enough that Harry’s mom and dad died, now his Godfather too? PS – Dumbledore’s Army FTW.

6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince: I must admit, when reading the book I was like WHO IN THE WORLD IS THE HALF-BLOOD PRINCE?! Then when I found out it was Snape I was like YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME! How did I not see that coming? I dunno. Also, Harry and Ginny start dating – thank God she got pretty (I was worried from the earlier movies). And the end – oh, the end. RIP Dumbledore – you are amazing and I love you.

7A. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1: Wow. Just…wow. I am so glad they made a five-hour-long movie, I just wish the two parts had come out together! The movie was EXCELLENT – I especially liked the shadow-telling of the story of the Three Brothers. However, when Dobby died at the end, I was a hot mess. I mean REALLY. I love that little house elf and his allegiance to Harry. I cried in the book, and I cried again in the movie. BRAVO.

7B. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2: I haven’t seen it yet (obviously), but I anticipate much crying and FINALLY – vindication. I really hope they do an “after the credits” type thing that shows Harry and Ginny’s wedding and their kids. DO IT, WARNER BROTHERS.

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

5 responses »

  1. I totally just posted my Harry Potter review! Only you are *much* better at brevity that I am. Seriously, how do you do it!? I love this movie too. And, even though I knew it was coming, I had a death grip (no pun intended) on David’s hand when I knew Dobby’s time was coming.

    Also, Goblet of Fire is my favorite of the movies too. When I first started seeing Twilight stuff, I was like “Dude, I liked Cedric Diggory a lot… but I had no idea he was so popular.” :-) (Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite book though.)

    • I could have gone on for pages and pages, but I thought I would spare my beloved readers – most of whom are equally obsessed with HP. So y’all aren’t missing anything any way :)

  2. I do love number 5, but I have to admit number 4 is my favorite. So much happens and you get exposed to such a large part of the wizarding world! Number 7 was so well done. They made the split in the right spot (though the ending was a bit sudden), and made cuts where necessary (and thankfully didn’t ADD random scenes like they did in HBP). Amazing.

    • I don’t think the ending was sudden, I think it was dramatic – and I cursed aloud when I realized it was over because I knew it meant I had to wait 8 months for the next one :(

  3. HALF-BLOOD PRINCE totally upset me. That movie was merely the skeleton of the 6th book, no flesh, no details, NOTHING. It really didn’t even touch Snape as much as it should have. I remember the book being more about him.

    Also, Helena Bonham Carter is awesome. She stands out and she’s superbly perfect for Bellatrix. There is no one else that could fully do that character justice! :)

Leave a Reply

