Thanksgiving Menu!

Standard

You know I love me a good holiday – friends, family, food and fun, all under one roof?! Sign. Me. Up.

For the past 3 Thanksgivings, I made a full-on meal for Chad and his TV station friends to enjoy. (The poor TV children don’t get to go home for the holidays that often, so I like to bring a taste of home to them.) Last year, I even made the turkey and a few other dishes for my own family’s giant Thanksgiving, though it is largely pot luck due to the MASSIVE (think: 60-80 people) size of our bunch. This year, I’m making EVERYTHING, since my mom, sister, nephew, grandpa and his wife are driving all the way in from Houston on late Wednesday night.

So, I set out to create the best Thanksgiving menu yet – and this is what I came up with:

Appetizers:

  1. Vegetable tray
  2. Souther sausage balls

Entrees:

  1. Apple and garlic roasted turkey (my signature dish)
  2. Spiral cut honey-baked ham

Side Dishes:

  1. Homemade 4-cheese, twice-baked macaroni and cheese
  2. Homemade old fashioned sweet potato casserole
  3. Bacon green beans
  4. Spinach salad with blueberries, mandarin oranges, feta and walnuts
  5. Croissant rolls

Desserts:

  1. Homemade pumpkin pie
  2. Homemade apple cinnamon pie

Drinks:

  1. Southern sweet tea

I’m hungry (and a little stressed) just thinking about it! I can’t wait to start cooking and for my family to be here!!! It will be our FIRST Thanksgiving with my immediate family and Chad – who, by the way, has Thursday-Sunday off of work for the first time since we started dating!!! I. AM. SO. PUMPED.

I’m even excited to go home and start cleaning my house, in anticipation of everyone’s arrival. I already have my fall decorations out (and have since October), but this really is the culmination of the season.

Even better – my Day-After-Thanksgiving ritual: psychotically early shopping with my mom and sister, then coming back home to decorate my house with my Christmas decorations and put up my Christmas tree!!! I’ve already purchased mine and Chad’s ornament for this year :)

HAPPY HAPPY DAY!!!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

