Honey, I’m Home!

Standard

You may (or may not) have noticed I’ve been gone – and therefore not blogging. Well, that’s because I was in Seattle for a work conferences, hanging out at Microsoft with Steve Ballmer. Okay, that last part’s not true – Steve Ballmer wasn’t there – but I will say that the Microsoft campus is a really cool place! It was an employee communications conference and I got to talk to a lot of communications professionals who were experiencing the same challenges as I am, and we got to hear from some awesome communicators from Ford, Dell, Intel, Coors and more. I’m really glad I got to go!

Upon landing, I picked up my rental car and went straight to the hotel (they gave me a Mustang convertible in Seattle in the middle of November – whaaaat?). I headed straight for Seattle’s famous waterfront to see Pike’s Place Market (if you’ve seen the Real World Seattle, circa 1994, it’s where they throw the fish) and the world’s first Starbucks (it was like Mecca). This area of town reminded me a little bit of Austin – very artsy, young and unique. After a delicious dinner at the Pink Door (where I was told is the home of the best lasagna in the Pacific Northwest), I felt a little sad. Lasagna is Chad’s favorite food and I couldn’t stop thinking about how much he would have liked Seattle – and how I wished he were there with me :(

The next day was Day 1 of the conference, which went really well – except for the part where I woke up at 4:30 a.m. and couldn’t go back to sleep because it’s 6:30 a.m. at home and that’s what time I’m used to getting up. Day 2 of the conference was also really good, and when it was over I headed straight to my car and up north on the Pacific Coast Highway – I was Vancouver bound! The drive to Vancouver was beautiful, but Vancouver itself…not so much. I feel like the Olympics lied to me.

Seattle/Vancouver Slide Show:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Overall, the trip was good. However, I can say with great confidence that even the best trip in the world isn’t worth it if you don’t have someone to share it with. I was definitely very excited to come home and be with Chad – my own personal paradise :)

Leave a Reply

