Scary Movie Month

Standard

It’s no secret that fall is my favorite season, and that October is my favorite month. Fall brings awesome weather, pumpkin flavored everything and burnt orange everything, straight from God. October means the heart of college football, NFL football and baseball playoffs – I mean really, this is my time to thrive!

In honor of fall/October/Halloween, Chad and I decided to watch a bunch of scary movies throughout the month. So far we’ve seen Psycho, The Crazies and The Hitcher. Psycho was dumb, The Crazies was good and The Hitcher is also recommended. To pick our movies, we’ve been going through the list of top horror movies of all time.

On the list, The Shining made a consistent appearance at the top. Chad was not interested in seeing The Shining because he said it was dumb, but I’ve always been interested in it. So, when AMC had a Steven King marathon this weekend, I signed myself up for it. As I settled in to watch the movie alone, I thought nothing of it.

SCARIEST. MOVIE. EVER.

Okay, maybe not EVER, but seriously – it was freaky. I’m a HUGE fan of psychological thriller books and movies, and this was no exception. The music made it EXPONENTIALLY scarier – well done, Stanley Kubrick. So, while I was totally freaked out and scared out of my mind, I loved the movie. (Apologies to my friends on Twitter/Facebook who were subject to my live updates while watching the movie – it made me feel like I wasn’t alone.) However, I won’t be watching super scary movies alone any more – clearly this was a mistake.

Bottom line – scary movies are fun, especially during October. However, they’re definitely date night events – not to be viewed alone – so that you can snuggle with your sweetheart when you feel scared :)

2 responses »

  1. I’m with you girl… Scariest book I ever read. My dear friend Chemine (lost her in August to cancer) recommended and laughed when I threw it away after a few chapters. Never was going to watch the movie.

    I am soo happy for you and your new life. Keeping you and Chap in my prayers daily. Please let me know if there is anything you ever need.
    Big Hugs –
    Cindy : )

Leave a Reply

