JA Week 1: No Lives Scarred Yet!

Standard

Today was my first day teaching Ms. Thomas’ first grade class at MLK Elementary in Little Rock, and I am proud to report that no lives were scarred during my first-ever teaching experience! The kids were really sweet and very well behaved – much to my relief!

I’ve never really been around kids before – my sister and I are some of the youngest kids in our family – and my nephew is only 3.5, so anything between 3.5 and 18 is pretty much a mystery to me. I do love me some  babies though – they are just so cute and cuddly and I just can’t help but love on ’em whenever they’re around :) I guess you could kind of call this a “practice run” for me and children. So far, so good!

Looking forward/slightly afraid of next week – the lesson is on needs vs. wants…in today’s society, it’s hard enough to convince a college-educated middle class person the difference between needs and wants (hello mortgage and credit crises), much less a group of underpriviliged inner city kids. In fact, maybe all of us should take note from next week’s lesson and really take time to think about what we truly NEED in life, versus the WANTS society tells us are the norm…

About Brittney

Being born and raised in Texas and attending the University of Texas, there were two things in life of which I was ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN: 1. That I would never leave Texas and 2. That I would NEVER date a Sooner. Boy was I wrong!

One response »

Leave a Reply

