YAY for Involvement!

Standard

As you all know, I found a few organizations I wanted to become actively involved with in Little Rock, in order to give back to the community and meet other people with similar interests. Well, I am happy to report that I am officially – as of 1 p.m. today – a volunteer with the Mid-South chapter of the Make-A-Wish Foundation! And not only am I a member, but also part of CREW, an organization specifically for young professionals passionate about nonprofit work. But wait…there’s more! Yes, being in the YoPro group wasn’t good enough for me – I’m also the co-chair of the networking committee! YAY!!! Needless to say, I am SUPER excited about reuniting with MAW after I intered and volunteered with the Central and South Texas chapter while at UT.

Also, my Junior Achievement training is tomorrow morning at 9 a.m.! I’m going to learn what to say and how to interact with the kids in my class – a 1st grade class in an economically underserved inner city elementary here in Little Rock. I’ve already been in touch with the class’ teacher, and she is very excited about having me come in and teach her students for one hour every Monday. When do I start, you ask? MONDAY! Clearly I waste no time :)

Chad and I are even making progress in the church involvement area of our lives. We are still attending Immanuel Baptist Church and have gone to one Sunday adult Bible study class. We’re still trying to find the right class for us, and we are having dinner tonight with two couples from church – it should be fun!

Now if only that Little Rock chapter of Texas Exes would become active…

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

