Texas/OU Weekend

Standard

Well, the most magical weekend of the year has finally arrived – Texas/OU Weekend. Like any burnt orange-blooded American, I love Texas/OU Weekend and look forward to it every year (yes, even if I think we’re going to lose – like I do this year).

As you know, the Texas/OU rivalry gets taken to another level when you are madly in love with someone from the enemy school. I think it’s pretty obvious how Chad and I feel about each other, but there are standing rules about Texas/OU Weekend that keep this love – and each person – alive. We are both VERY passionate about our schools, and without the rules below, we just might kill each other.

1. Don’t talk after kickoff. It’s true, we literally DO NOT TALK (or text, email, whatever the kids are doing these days) from kickoff until church the next day. Why? Well, obviously SOMEONE is angry at the end of the game, and it would be best for the other person just to give them space and time to deal with their emotions.

2. Winner buys treats. Last year, Chad and I attended the game in Dallas, and after TEXAS BEAT OU (:D), I bought him a deep fried Snickers. He felt better after that, but not as good as I did :) This year, I’m probably going to need a glass of wine. (Are you reading this, babe?)

3. Support each other’s teams on other weekends. Many people have asked us “So, do you hate each other every Saturday during football season?” In a word: No! We (outwardly) cheer for each other’s teams and are happy when we do well. Now,  are secretly (inwardly) PUMPED when the other person’s team loses? Well, it wouldn’t be a secret if I told you now would it? (YES! But silently and in private hahahaha)

So those are our Texas/OU Weekend survival tips – what do you think? Also, note that this year the game kicks off at 2:30 (LAME), so Chad will only get to watch the first half before he has to go to work. I, on the other hand, will be watching the game in Dallas with my good friend Andrew and anyone else who wants to join – let me know if you’re going to be in town!

2 responses »

  1. Love this! David is a Michigan fan and I am a Notre Dame fan, so we have pretty much the same type of policy every year when they play. (Except we DO hate each other’s teams the rest of the time too!) Previously, the only time we watched the game together was also when we were actually at the game. This year, we tried to watch together – I ended up throwing a water bottle. Oops. :-) Separate rooms again next year!

    • Ha! I love it. Chad is from Michigan and Texas played Ohio State twice when I was in school, so it’s good that we’re both pro-Michigan and anti-Ohio State :)

      I totally understand throwing water bottles or any other object within arm’s reach – last year was the first and only time we’ve watched together (because we were actually there), and I think it could get pretty ugly if we were in the same room – confined spaces and college football fanatics don’t go together!

Leave a Reply

