Cheryl’s World

Standard

My friend and former colleague, Cheryl (who also met her man online, just a few days before I met Chad), blogged about how the world would be different if she were in charge. I must say, I’m 100% down with Cheryl’s World and would move there in a heartbeat if I could!

Cheryl’s rules include basic tenants of chivalry, common sense, practicality, etc. – you can see them all here. Here are a few more rules I would add to Cheryl’s World – you know, if the ruler would allow it :)

1. Student loan debt is erased if you graduate with a 3.25 GPA or better. I am really not looking forward to paying back the $60,000 I owe UT for the REST OF MY LIFE, and I feel that my 4.0 and ongoing contributions to society, the workforce and the economy are a more impactful way to pay back the cosmos.

2. Mandatory volunteer work/service projects. The old adage is true – 20% of the people do 80% of the work. There are so many people in need today, and the majority of the world is completely okay with ignoring others and going about their daily lives. Did you know that if we all donated $10 there would be no hunger? If one person from every church in the world adopted a child, there would be no orphanages? Just think about how a few little things could add up to help society.

3. Everyone would get at least one month of vacation per year. There’s not a lot of work/life balance in the world today, and sometimes you just need to get away. Two weeks (10 days) of vacation is typically used for the holiday season and a summer trip – but what about the other 10 months out of the year? Happy workers produce better results, and I don’t think people would argue with my increased vacation schedule :)

What about you? What rules would you instate in your ideal world?

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

