Your Favorite Volunteering Opps

Standard

Friends, I would like your input, thoughts, feedback and suggestions for some community involvement. As what I would consider a responsible adult, I feel compelled and excited to spend my time giving back to the community through various service and social organizations. Because I’m new to Little Rock, I am also using this as an opportunity to meet new people and become connected to my new home – hopefully I won’t be spending my weekends alone while Chad’s at work in the near future.

That being said, I’ve been researching some volunteer/service opportunities and will be joining the following organizations:

1. Little Rock Junior League: I’m really excited about this one, as a few girlfriends and former coworkers are or have been involved in their respective Junior League chapters, and all have assured me that this is a worthwhile organization. For those of you who may not know, the Junior League is an organization dedicated to connecting, empowering and growing young (under 45) women. I’m excited to meet and learn from some of the area’s brightest women, but sadly the next membership consideration period doesn’t open until early 2011. Stay tuned!

2. Make-A-Wish Foundation of the Mid-South: As many of you know, I interned and volunteered with MAW in college and absolutely loved it. It is truly an honor and a blessing to give back to the children who have endured such hardship at such a young age. Cancer has affected many people in my family, so I understand the struggles these families are going through and absolutely love seeing these kids’ pure joy and excitement, even in the face of unimaginable circumstances.

3. Junior Achievement: I think role models are critical in the development of a child, and many underprivileged children aren’t as fortunate as I was to grow up with strong adult role models. Thus, I’ve volunteered to be a Junior Achievement classroom mentor, serving one hour a week teaching children critical social, personal, moral and business basics in their normal classrooms. I will travel to MLK Elementary School in downtown Little Rock, an economically underserved school, and hopefully become a positive influence and lasting impact on some of tomorrow’s leaders.

4. Church: Chad and I haven’t found a church home here in Little Rock just yet, but rest assured that as soon as we find the right place for us and become members, I will become involved. I’m hoping to host a small group in my home for young couples, but I will remain in prayer about what opportunities are best for me and those around me. Because communication is my passion, I hope to find an opportunity similar to that with Woodlands Church, where I helped with various writing and social media projects.

5. Little Rock Texas Exes: Sadly, this chapter is not yet up and running, but there is a contact listed online. I emailed her last week and she said she’s still working to get our chapter organized and solidified, but once all of that is complete I will definitely sign right up! We Longhorns have to stick together deep in the heart of Razorback country!

This all seems like a lot and I’m worried that I’ll overwhelm myself, but for right now I think it’s manageable. I mean, each opportunity is only a few hours a month, and it’s not like I have an active social life right now… Plus, I want to spend my time in a way that is productive, not just watching TV or something.

So what about you? What organizations are you involved in, and how are you liking them? Any recommendations or suggestions for me?

4 responses »

  1. This is awesome, Brittney! I am always interested in getting involved with organizations like Make-A-Wish and the Junior League. You will have to update us on your involvement with those groups. I’ve volunteered with the Pearland Neighborhood Center for the last two years. They have one major fundraiser (the PNC Ball) every year and they have multiple committees for anything from the website, invitations, the silent and live auction, and decorating. They always need volunteers at the Center. Recently, I signed up to volunteer with MS Society, after we completed the MS150. I filled out the paperwork, now I’m waiting to find out what I’ll be doing. I was talking to a girlfriend who volunteers at MD Anderson last Friday and I think I’m going to start doing that with her. She goes every Wednesday and she is really enjoying it. Anyway, good luck in Little Rock, it’s interesting to keep up with you through your blog! It sounds like things are going really well for you and Chad! Don’t forget to update us on the volunteer work, I would really like to hear about Make-A-Wish and the Junior League. Oh and I hope that Texas Exes group gets going soon! I’m sure you would be a great person to get the ball rolling up there!

    • Thanks, Robin! I’m really excited for each opportunity. I’ll definitely keep you posted on all of my volunteer work, and you do the same! I saw your FB posts about the PNC Ball – looks like it was a success! And your family riding together in the MS 150 – what an inspiration! I donated to a coworker’s ride, it’s definitely a great cause. Keep me posted on MD Anderson – they’re such a great organization, I’m sure the volunteer work is awesome!

      Stay tuned for more information about life in Arkansas and with Chad – hopefully we’ll have some REALLY exciting news in the coming months! :) And I’ll definitely let you know about the LR Texas Exes – I’ll do whatever I can to get it up and running!

  2. Hey man, that’s awesome! No better way to get to know a new place and people than to get out there and get involved. Starting with a lot of things can be a great idea, and maybe you’ll find your niche and narrow things down after a while so you don’t feel too overwhelmed :)

  3. Pingback: YAY for Involvement! « Red River Romance

Leave a Reply

